The East Central District Platinum Award recognizes outstanding professional service among district PRSA members. Every year, the ECD presents one Platinum Award in honor of former national PRSA board member and ECD PRSA board chair Donald P. Durocher, APR, Fellow PRSA. In Durocher’s memory, the district board recognizes a practitioner who has achieved a distinguished service record and is clearly identified as a role model for other professionals.

All chapters are urged to submit a nomination annually for the Platinum Award.

Stay tuned for more information about our 2021 Platinum Award nominations. To get a general idea, check out the below 2020 criteria. Please note that our 2021 criteria are subject to change.

Criteria for the award include past and current evidence of outstanding ECD service in the following capacities:

  • PRSA district service
  • PRSA chapter service
  • PRSA national service
  • Impact on the profession
  • PRSSA chapter and national service
  • Other professional organization work that contributed to or enhanced the understanding of the public relations field

Nominations should be submitted in a typed word document and are limited to one nomination per chapter. The nomination should define the service positions held as well as the impact and the contributions made by the nominee. Articles and/or books authored by a candidate that have enhanced the knowledge of others in the profession should also be identified along with the awards, citations and honors the candidate has received for his or her professional service.

Letters of support of the nomination and verifying the contributions may be included with the nomination form. Paid employees of the ECD and current sitting members of the ECD Board are excluded from nomination.

2020 Platinum Award Recipient: Alisa Agozzino, PhD, APR

In 2020, PRSA ECD chose PRSA Central Ohio’s Alisa Agozzino, PhD, APR, associate professor of public relations at Ohio Northern University as the ECD Platinum Award recipient.

The PRSA ECD board of directors accepts nominations from around the district and then votes on a selected recipient who has achieved a distinguished service record to PRSA at the local, district and national levels.

Dr. Agozzino has provided service to the Central Ohio PRSA Chapter as a committee chair and a member of the Board of Directors. At PRSA’s national level, she serves as the chair of PRSA’s Educators Academy and as the National Faculty Advisor for PRSSA.

Congratulations to Dr. Agozzino for this highly deserved award!